Early this week, a young life was lost tragically in a hit-and-run accident. The girl, Sheyla Pichardo, was being accompanied to school by her mother, and when they were crossing at the crosswalk at 62nd and Van Buren, a late model black Chevy Tahoe ran over the young girl. The driver of the SUV stopped to let a passenger out, and then just drove off.
Presently, an investigation team is viewing surveillance videos to try to identify the driver. As yet they have been unable to identify the number on the license plate but they do know that the Chevy Tahoe had temporary tags, chrome hubcaps and running boards.
Sheyla was in first grade and was an only child, a fact that has left the family devastated
Felix Roque, West New York Mayor, revealed that he knew Sheyla’s mother and that the family was from a poor Mexican background. He stated that the council will cover any costs associated with the death.
In New York, unfortunately, these types of accidents are surprisingly common. According to the U.S. Department of Transportation, 1 in 5 pedestrian and bicycle fatalities are caused by hit-and-run drivers. It is possible to receive compensation in these types of accidents once the hit-and-run driver has been positively identified. He or she may be held 100 percent liable, because failure to stop at the scene of an accident is considered admitting guilt.
However, there are situations when the hit-and-run driver is never found. You may still be compensated by claiming through the New York State Motor Vehicle Accident Indemnification Corp (MVAIC). There is a fund that has been set up which provides payment for medical costs, loss of wages, and other compensation benefits for personal injuries that have taken place in a hit-and-run accident.
If you are a pedestrian in a hit-and-run accident you may be entitled to economic and non-economic damages, such as for pain and suffering. There is a requirement, according to Section 5208 of New York Insurance Law, which states that if you are injured in an accident that is hit and run, the incident must be reported as close to 24 hours after the accident happened in order to qualify for any compensation.
Personal injury law becomes complicated when a hit-and-run accident takes place and the perpetrator is never located, but you should still pursue a claim through a hit-and-run attorney who will ensure you file a personal injury claim that is your entitlement. If you have lost a relative as a result of a hit-and-run accident, you may be able to file a wrongful death claim against the person deemed responsible for the accident.
Whatever the circumstances of an accident in which you or a family member has been seriously injured, you should contact an experienced Long Island personal injury lawyer like Richard S. Jaffe Esq. who offers a free consultation to discuss your eligibility to file a personal injury claim.
You can contact him at the Law Offices of Cohen & Jaffe LLP, 2001 Marcus Avenue, Suite W295, Lake Success, NY 11042. Phone: 516-358-6900 or toll free: 800-483-6149.
For a free legal consultation, call 516-358-6900